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Campaign Creation & Development Creative & Production

If you’re a digital marketer, you’ve probably heard the term “geofencing,” which refers to our ability to track and serve location-based advertising to customers. But, since July, there’s a new game in town: Optimal GeoSpace. UberMedia – known for pioneering the customer data and social marketing sectors – introduced a more refined version of geofencing that tracks the nuances of your customers’ behavior in real-time format. These insights reveal granular data about when, where, and how your customer journey evolves.

This information helps marketers determine the type of campaigns that are most relevant to your customers and how they like to shop. Most importantly, it allows us to be at the right time, at the right place, with the right content. These breakthroughs are especially important for direct marketing initiatives as well as business planning and investing. Here’s how.

Optimal GeoSpace for direct marketing:

You wouldn’t email your customers about the hottest new winter coat in July (or maybe ever if your customers are based in South Florida like our team of Orlando marketing agency experts). You probably wouldn’t host a blowout sale on boating supplies in a landlocked, desert community. On the flip side, almost every major electronics store runs a Black Friday or Cyber Monday sale because that’s what customers expect. These are the basics of direct marketing. All promotional marketing should be relevant and timely based on your customers’ expectations, seasonality, and purchasing patterns so they are primed to purchase prior to receiving your offer. This concept is simple when you zoom out and look at annual business trends and sales cycles. But Optimal GeoSpace takes this concept one step farther.

Now, imagine your restaurant’s peak hours are between 6:00 pm – 10:00 pm, but you want to begin offering a happy hour starting at 5:00 pm. Instead of blasting your promotional material to every passerby who may or may not be interested, Optimal GeoSpace can help you determine when your target audience’s foot traffic increases and when they area primed to receive a notification about your happy hour. Maybe your ideal customers take a long lunch nearby, so sending them a discount notice during lunch may increase your happy hour attendance. Maybe your restaurant falls on peoples’ commute home, so an invitation to escape rush hour with discounted drinks may serve your needs better. Optimal GeoSpace boosts location-based direct marketing techniques by refining real-time data so you can narrow your messaging and timing to reach the potential customers you want when they want it.

Business planning and investing with Optimal GeoSpace:

As your business expands, Optimal GeoSpace can also help you determine where to branch out. In the same way that this technology tells you when your customers are ready to receive a discount, Optimal GeoSpace can help you identify other areas where your customers are naturally congregating and conducting business. This type of information will help you perform business forecasting that will determine whether an investment (or even rental or leasing price) is worthwhile for a particular venture or expansion.

Optimal GeoSpace can help you choose the best place to open a business so that your location fits your natural business model by highlight people that behave the way your best customers do. Once you’ve found pockets of like-minded customers, you can expand your business to meet and greet them, rather than waiting for them to discover you.

Knowledge is power. And Optimal GeoSpace gives you deeper, more meaningful insights to understand your customers and satisfy their needs. It can give you a leg up on your competitors and help you plan for the future more carefully. Click here to learn more about the variety of analytics and insights tools our team uses to take your business to the next level.

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Campaign Creation & Development Copywriting Creative & Production

We’re about to let you in on a BIGEYE exclusive. Four of our Orlando marketing agency’s most creative minds dish on their favorite design advice. Whether you’re a designer, a business owner, or a production specialist, their advice speaks to the challenges we all face in our fast-paced, marketing-driven world. So sit back, relax, and soak in the good stuff.

Seth Segura, Creative Director: Solve the right problems.

Our Creative Director Seth brings a lot – and we mean a lot – to the table. His experience ranges from copywriting and design, to thought leadership and brand strategy. But at the end of the day, he always leads with results-first, which is why his favorite design advice hinges on solving customer or business problems. As a designer, it’s always tempting to lean into what is aesthetically pleasing; but as a creative marketer, you need to think about what problems you’re solving for your customers through design. When you look at a print ad or a web page: yes, it should absolutely look visually pleasing. Color balance, line, and composition are always king (unless you’re talking to the content folks on our digital team). But, your design must also enable customers to experience a new emotion or help them accomplish a specific task. For this reason, designers who specialize in user experience (UX) creation and page layout are some of the most highly sought-after talent in the marketplace. In addition to having a strong creative eye, these types of designers are trained to think about how customers will interact with their work. For them, that webpage button isn’t just red because it looks good … It’s red because it draws the customer’s eye to your business call to action and signals how they can complete a task. Fashion, meet function.

Rhett Withey, Lead Designer: Be up for the challenge.

Rhett has amazing intuition about what creative elements will work, and which will fall flat. In addition to having a natural sense of design principles, part of his success stems from tackling challenges head on. When thinking about his favorite design advice, he knows that chasing new design trends and emerging media every time something new comes out can turn a designer into a jack of all trades and a master of none; but that getting stuck in a rut, or resting on your portfolio’s laurels isn’t enough to stay on cutting edge of the design world. Rhett balances his own deep expertise against stretch goals and challenges that cultivate his leadership and design skills. To do this in your role, spend at least 15% of your time experimenting with new design media, raise your hand to lead a challenging new project, add research spikes into your work flow, take a class to explore new techniques, or partner with other creatives on your team. There are literally hundreds of ways to polish your skill set without compromising your current projects once you commit to doing it. While it’s always tempting to stick with the status quo, taking on new challenges fine-tunes your intuition and will make your work even sharper.

Dani Alfonso, Designer: Value your work.

One of the best pieces of design advice we can offer is to be passionate about and value your own work. Dani’s passion for her work shines through in both her professional output and in all areas of her life. Whether she’s traveling, enjoying time with her miniature schnauzer, working at her desk, collaborating with our team, or finding inspiration in the world around her, Dani lives with earnest passion that embraces creativity around her. And that is critical when designing for a living. As Chris Spooner, design blogger and theorist once said, “the clients aren’t always right. It’s okay to disagree with their demands if you can back up your own opinions with professional theory.” There will be times, as a designer, you will need to throw away work that you love, or defend work your clients hate. The trick is recognizing those situations when they arise and handling them with grace and confidence. Designers are one part creative expert and one part translator, charged with interpreting their clients’ business needs against the background noise of opinions, deadlines, and resource constraints to create something beautiful and functional. To do this, a designer needs to be confident in their knowledge and skills — and not afraid to share them.

Matt Hutchens, Video Producer: Manage the madness. 

As a video producer, Matt needs to manage crew members, wrangle environmental factors like lighting and weather, anticipate unexpected snafus, capture the perfect angle, balance timing, and weave together tone and messaging … to just name a few. It makes sense that his design advice is about having a design process that inspires creativity and ensures quality work. To help manage the madness that inevitably arises as business needs change and situations evolve, have a design “Q&A checklist” that covers the basic checks and balances necessary before signing off on a project such as spacing, spelling, contrast, and color in line with your brand guidelines. Designers often bear the brunt of the creative burden, so don’t be afraid to consider time savers such as collaborating, outsourcing, or finding good ways to use stock photography or video (when appropriate). Strategic time saving techniques free you up to do your best, most inspired work. Put some space around your creative process so your ideas stay fresh and your focus on point. Whether that means creating a design den for your creative team or letting people work from home once a week, figure out what your business needs to thrive and don’t be afraid to do something unconventional to enable your most talented minds.

Still want more from our star-studded team? Check out examples of their work here, or give us a call to discuss how we can add a little inspiration to your creative process. We are always eager to share design advice with our customers, but would love to hear what works for your team as well. Shoot us a message or share a comment on how your design team works best. Two heads are more creative than one!

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Adaptable Creative Creative & Production

Have you ever noticed how logo design inspiration and trends (especially popular ones) can get recycled so many times they start looking more tired than last summer’s overplayed one-hit-wonder? Don’t let your business logo get stuck in a rut like a B-list celebrity. Use these ten easy, fresh logo design inspiration tips to keep your brand image fresher than our boy Doug E. Fresh. And yes, we just went there. It’s 2016, after all : it’s time that your logo started looking that way.

1. Logo design inspiration starts with tone and color:

One of the cardinal rules of logo design inspiration is setting the tone of your brand. Your logo should capture the heart of your brand values and communicate the vibe of your products or services. Whether you want to channel exquisite service standards, casual comfort, or extreme luxury, color is one of the best ways to set tone. Color psychology is a powerful, scientifically backed tool that can instantly augment any visual cues you use in your logo. For example, blue is one of the most popular and comforting colors to the human eye, which is why so many brands choose shades of blue to establish a sense of familiarity or trust in their logos. Just think about this range of “blue” brands: Facebook, American Express, IBM, Volkswagen, General Electric, and Gap (as a start).

2. Use negative space to affirm brand values:

Many designers, rightfully, focus their efforts on creating strong primary typography or iconography when crafting a logo. But sometimes, leveraging negative space can add a subtle cue or affirmation about your brand that customers gravitate toward. FedEx ingeniously does this by creating a forward arrow in the negative space created between the “E” and the “X” in their name. The forward arrow captures the nature of their shipping business model while signaling speed and movement. Because the negative space is so subtle, customers subconsciously think about these values on their own without being told. When your logo is that good, you don’t even need a tag line. 

3. Sometimes you need to ditch the text for fresh logo design inspiration:

Our next piece of advice is somewhat risky and definitely controversial. Depending on your brand, you may be able to eliminate words all together. This is easier to pull off when your brand name corresponds to something literal, such as electronic giant Apple. On the flip side, having a nonsensical symbol can sometimes be a very powerful aid in creating unique, one-of-a-kind brand association (think: Nike), but you risk missing out on recognition in the early stages of your company’s evolution if you go this route.

4. Break the rules with animated logos:

It’s safe to say that animated logos are not the norm. Although digital marketing is swiftly becoming one of the most ubiquitous and important pieces of the marketing mix, traditional marketing techniques still inform most digital design principles. For this reason, most logos use static images and text … But true logo design inspiration can break the rules and push boundaries. Experiment with an animated logo that uses subtle movement to reiterate part of your brand or draw your customers’ eye to a certain feature. The trick is not using animation for the sake of animation; but rather, using it to make a specific point. Our team of designers can help you assess how risky to be with your logo to push the creative limits without risking your brand. 

5. Get playful and play on words:

Word play or tongue-in-cheek logos that incorporate images into lettering are light, whimsical ways to add something extra to a traditional text-based logo without deviating too far from clear brand-image association. Taking artistic license with lettering (think: turning a Y into a cocktail glass), using tasteful double entendres or homonyms, are all ways to express aspects of your brand without falling back on tired imagery or overused typography.

6. Understand typography to drive logo design inspiration:

In that vein, it’s important to understand the general best practices of typography if you decide to go with a text-based logo. Right now, monogram-style logos with thing, sans-serif font, rustic, hipster-esque circles, arrows, antlers or foliage are all the rage. These are all great visual elements and there’s a reason why they are popular. When searching for logo design inspiration, however, be careful not to lean too far into what is trendy or popular in the moment. Your logo should be uniquely you and stand the test of time.

7. Don’t be afraid to be classic with literal imagery:

If it’s not broke, no need to fix it. If you have a natural association between some aspect of your brand and a strong visual cue don’t be afraid to lean on that. Get creative, get a little abstract, or switch up the styling from time to time, but there’s no need to recreate the wheel if you have something that works. Let a professional designer, such as one of our experts at your Orlando-based marketing agency, help you come up with ways to freshen up the natural visual cues of your brand without compromising them. Classics are always in style – and inspired.

8. Invest, invest, invest:

Think of your logo as your signature. It’s your chance at a first impression with your prospective customers. It’s your first line of defense to help current customers remember your brand. And in that sense, it may be your most valuable asset. It’s a wonderful place to invest time and resources when prioritizing your marketing budget. Sometimes you really do need a pro’s help for true logo design inspiration to strike, and if we only had to pick a handful of places to invest your marketing dollars, we would list your logo near the top of our list every time. 

9. Opinions DO matter:

Normally, we let opinions roll off our backs without giving them a second thought. Live loud and proud. That said, your logo is one of those times when opinions really do matter. At least to your customers. What you may consider to be a strike of genius logo design inspiration may not resonate with your customers, so before you overhaul your entire brand strategy, do some user testing and seek validation from your real customer base. Their opinions are the only ones that matter.

10. Seek logo design inspiration absolutely everywhere:

And last, but certainly not least, we recommend that you seek logo design inspiration absolutely everywhere. Encourage all your team members to share ideas, conduct customer surveys, look to nature, watch movies, and seek unconventional ways to transform your logo and brand styling.

We don’t pretend that logo creation is easy. It’s arguably one of the most difficult tasks any marketer or business owner will tackle. But remember, our team is always here to support you along the way. We’re here as a sounding board, as a creative team, and as design junkies to guide you no matter where you’re at in your logo design process. Not convinced? Just click here to read more about some of the guiding design principles we use when creating any logo.

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Adaptable Creative Creative & Production

If you think you’ve seen every blog post about website color schemes already … think again. Most posts about website color schemes showcase lists of the best website color combinations on the market. They pop with energy and elegance. You might even feel a little design envy while skimming these sites’ perfectly balanced photography, high quality imagery, and tasteful color palettes. But, let’s be honest: most of these blogs don’t tell you how to make your site look that good. Sure, we’re proud of our work. And if you want to see some examples of how we’ve helped clients use color theory to amp up their businesses, click here. But we also want to give you the tools you need to start (color) scheming like a pro. Below, we’ll walk you through the guiding principles of color theory to help you create effective website color schemes that you can start using today.
Creating effective website color schemes isn’t as hard as you think once you understand a few essential principles of color theory. Some of the basics, you probably already know from days in your middle school art class (like how primary and secondary colors are positioned on the color wheel, or mix to make new colors). And some color theory boils down to intuition based on your own taste and preferences. Remember, it’s your brand. There’s no formula that generates perfect website color schemes every time, so sometimes it’s good to trust your gut and simply go with what looks good to you. That said, these principles will help you along the way.

SET THE TONE WITH YOUR MAIN COLOR:

The most important decision you need to make is choosing your main color. A little color psychology (and some common sense) can help you here. Colors tend to channel tones and emotions that subconsciously prime your audience to feel certain emotions. Red signals urgency and energy. Green resonates freshness, nature, and cleanliness. Blue has a calming and trustworthy undertone. Yellow can bring elements of levity and lightheartedness to your brand. These descriptions should feel like common sense to you because we have all been primed to feel these associations based on a variety of environmental and cultural cues that link color with emotion. It makes sense for a sporting goods store to use an energetic color such as red and orange, or an earthy earth tone such as brown or rust for a main color because there is a natural link between these colors and the outdoors … but can you imagine that same brand choosing a soft purple or hot pink as a primary color? We agree: it’s a stretch.

Think about your own brand and the emotions you want to link with it. Jot those feelings and associations down, then cross reference them with your primary colors. Now, you’re off to a great start. If you get stuck, we recommend choosing an image (whether it’s your logo, a picture of your headquarters or office, your products, or even something that just speaks to your brand) and brainstorming what colors stand out to you. This can help you break free of the norm if you feel like your primary color is too trite or a little overplayed. For example, a surf shop owner may choose a picture of the beach when thinking about her brand, but feel drawn to a burst of magenta shrubs in the corner of the frame. Unlike the expected blue or teal, the magenta adds an element of excitement and adventure that might just be the color her brand needed.

CHOOSE SUPPORTING COLORS, AKA UNDERSTANDING COMPLEMENTATION:

Next, invite some friends. Complementation refers to how well colors mingle with other colors. Hues that are across the color wheel from each other tend to be visually pleasing because they create a natural visual balance by complementing each other. As you think about additional colors that will support your signature tone, consider how well they work together. Make sure you have at least one additional color that creates real contrast when layering colored text or grabbing your viewers’ attention. Most supporting color choices fall into one of four types of website color schemes:

  • Complementary 

    Your brand colors should play off each other, rather than conflict with each other, which is why complementary website color schemes are one of the most popular choices. Start with your main color, then look across the color wheel to see what its opposite is. This tone will stand out when placed near your main color without competing or creating visual friction.

  • Monochromatic 

    If your complementary color is too bold for your brand, you may consider dabbling in monochromatic color schemes. Instead of choosing additional colors, you use different tones or shades of your main color. This creates a sense of visual consistency and uniformity that can be very aesthetically pleasing. Just make sure your colors are not so similar that you lose your visual dynamics. To do this, experiment with the saturation, tone, and warmth of your main color.

  • Analogous 

    A variation on this idea is analogous website color schemes. Typically, they feature three to four colors adjacent to your main color on the color wheel. Like monochromatic schemes, this option creates a visual consistency that can boost familiarity with your creative elements; however, analogous colors provide a little more variety and interest on your website. This is especially useful to mitigate the negative impact screen size, brightness, HD display styles, and other outside factors can sometimes have on monochromatic color palettes.

  • Triadic 

    In recent years, triadic website color schemes have become wildly popular. Start by drawing an equilateral triangle from your primary color on the color wheel. The two opposite points of your triangle (and their neighbors) represent unique color complements that are visually intriguing, but not as starkly contrasted as your primary color’s main opposite. Triadic colors give you a little more flexibility if you want to use several colors for your brand without the risk of overwhelming your viewer.

When in doubt (or when you’re ready to take your website color schemes to the advanced level), our team can help educate and assist you in choosing your color palette — but remember, the best website color schemes come from your heart.

Categories
Adaptable Creative Creative & Production

History has a funny way of repeating itself. We see this in fashion (we’re still wondering why flared pants keep coming back in style), in politics and history, and in design trends. This year, CSS gradients are making a comeback. But this time around, we’re calling it ombré, and doing it using css gradient code, and giving Photoshop a rest. The results transform this 90’s-style splash trend into a sleek, modern accent tool that surprises viewers without overpowering other design elements.

CSS GRADIENTS ELEVATE FLAT DESIGN:

The flat design trend took the creative world by storm and helped cut through the mounting visual clutter of hyper-realistic, hyper-saturated, hyper-detailed design made capable by today’s powerful digital tools. But, like many trends, once flat design reached an extreme, tastes have begun to slowly swing in the other direction. We still love the clean simplicity of flat color palettes and how minimal design focuses the eye; but we also crave a few dynamic elements that bring just the right amount of depth and interest into the picture. Layering a subtle ombré wash onto a flat background or using graduated color to denote shadow adds elements of realism onto flat design principles without departing from the essential simplicity of this trend. 

YOUR DEVELOPERS AND DESIGNERS WILL LOVE YOU:

Despite the complex visual intrigue ombré delivers, it’s surprisingly simple to implement. In some ways, we credit technology for this design comeback. Today’s website coding language allows developers to create a consistent set of rules, called a CSS, that dictates how certain elements (such as your hero image or tile modules) are treated across the site. Designers and developers can work together to define these rules in accordance with your brand style guide so that your designs and the finished website product are more closely aligned with each other, and with your guiding creative principles, than ever before. CSS gradients are a perfect example of how technology can make your designs more consistent. Instead of using Photoshop to add a gradient onto every single photo where you want this style to appear, CSS gradients use a simple snippet of code that deliver radial, horizontal and vertical linear fades almost anywhere on your site. They can be layered on top of each other to combine two or more colors for truly remarkable – and replicable – effects. These gradients can be seamlessly duplicated anywhere you want them to appear. This frees your designers from the tedious process formerly needed to create web-ready striking ombré images on your site, while making implementation more consistent and clean across the board. Trust us, your perfectionist of a developer will thank you later.

WHERE YOU CAN USE CSS GRADIENTS:  

Spotify made ombré backgrounds popular with their jewel-tone color overlays and bold fading. But you can also use CSS gradients on individual elements. Consider adding a gradient to a button to draw attention to that element without beating viewers over the head. Use gradient in your font to create beachy, laid back text elements. Add ombré to your borders and shading for a surprising twist on tried and tested visual cues. Or layer colors on top of each other to change the tone and feel of your site (think: muted nudes for an ethereal vibe or punchy primaries for a more jovial energy). CSS gradients can be applied almost anywhere due to the flexibility of the code used to implement them. Because this effect is easy to implement and edit, don’t be afraid to experiment how it looks around your site.

Our team is in love with this new trend and wants to hear how you have been celebrating the ombré comeback on your site. Share your design ideas here or reach out to our team to learn how you can incorporate CSS gradients onto your next paid ad, website, or email campaign for creative elements that are truly on point.

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Creative & Production Video Production

Today’s general media usage pattern favors images and videos over pages of text and long, descriptive paragraphs. It’s true that text-based sites are still critical in conveying news and detailed information, but the average user is more engaged with and spends the most time on visual content. One need only look to the cult-like popularity of the image-based news site Buzzfeed to understand this trend. Images are such a critical part of the average media usage pattern that a typical user scans a website in under three seconds and draws a conclusion about the brand, site, or content simply by the visual elements alone.
This is why corporate video production is so important when positioning your brand and engaging your audience. To help guide your video production needs, our full-service Orlando marketing agency is here to help. Click here for examples of our work. When you’re ready, our team will help you craft the perfect marketing videos, assist with the story boarding process, refine messaging, and convey tone through images. As you begin thinking about the types of videos your brand can’t live without, here is our cheat sheet for success. We’ll share the one thing that matters most in corporate video production and two bonus tips that certainly help.

MUST DO: Get painfully aligned to your audience’s media usage pattern:

If you are an avid reader of our blog, you have probably heard us tell you to get painfully narrow about everything from media spends to big data investments. We like to think of this as our “Golden Rule” of digital marketing, so you shouldn’t be surprised that it’s our top recommendation when thinking about corporate video production. When your content is too broad, you risk never engaging your users enough to break through the hundreds of ads, blogs, and distractions vying for their attention. No product or service is suitable for everyone, and your content shouldn’t be either.

When you know your audience very well, you’ll understand their unique media usage pattern, you’ll know the types of material they enjoy most, you’ll know where they spend their time online, and you can tailor your content to their exact needs. By getting painfully aligned with a specific target audience, you may feel like you are alienating customers who don’t fall into that specific subset. Flip your perspective here. Instead of alienating customers, you are simply embracing the quality over quantity mindset to build your business with ultra loyal customers who will engage with and stay with your brand. As this base grows, more subsets will begin learning about and adopting your brand as a secondary audience. In other words, by going narrow, you’ll get broad. If you start broad, you risk never getting noticed at all.

This is critically important when producing corporate videos. No branding video should be longer than 30 seconds, and most viewers stop watching after 10 seconds if they haven’t been hooked by your content. You simply can’t afford to try to appeal to everyone. To create highly engaging content, you have to have a clear vision and know what your audience will enjoy. Let our team help you create a unique story that grabs your customers’ attention and wow’s your audience.

SHOULD DO: Tell a story that fits seamlessly in their media usage pattern:

One of the best ways to capture your audience is to tell a story that fits seamlessly into their media usage pattern. A great example of this is Bergdorf Goodman’s annual holiday catalogue campaign. Each year, to kick off their holiday season, Bergdorf Goodman creates a themed video that introduces their top most outrageous, sumptuous, over-the-top, elaborate gifts. Naturally, they tease these must-have items on social media, and seal the deal with outrageously indulgent email videos and Instagram posts. Our favorite? The 2011 dog-themed shopping spree. Check it out here: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5vb8kGLfhpM. The effect creates a magical, luxuriant world that speaks to their most high-valued customers and every single aspirational shopper that ever stumbled upon the brand. Take time to get to know your audience and understand why they are surfing on certain platforms or using certain digital tools. This will help inform the types of stories they will enjoy seeing and how you can relate your product back to these themes.

Telling a story also helps create an emotional bond between your target audience and your brand. Regardless of whether you choose to target your corporate video at the top of the sales funnel or at the bottom of the funnel; or whether your content is product-focused or brand value-focused, relating your corporate video back to an emotional hook helps differentiate your brand and break away from the competition. Remember those Bergdorf dogs? They didn’t make BG products any more luxurious than Saks or Neiman Marcus items, but they did help this brand stand out. While it’s always important to balance your story with critical facts and figures about your product, the vast majority of purchases are decided based on emotion rather than fact when all other elements are equal. So go ahead, get emotional.

SHOULD DO: Make every frame count:

Never create videos simply to create a video. And don’t try to accomplish something in a video that you could do in a powerfully placed image. Every frame of your video should convey something an image cannot. Usually, this is why having a compelling story is so important. Similarly, video can be an invaluable asset when showcasing the unique features or high quality that sets your product apart.

Every frame of your corporate video should be power-packed so that your audience understands the value of your product whether they watch 10 seconds or 40 seconds. Your video should also stand alone with or without sound because you can never guarantee your audience will view with the volume on. Because you can’t control variables such as sound or timing, every single frame of your corporate video needs to convey your key message points and product details seamlessly.

Because corporate video production is one of the most nuanced forms of marketing and requires close collaboration with your creative team, it is often most effective to use a digital market agency to streamline the process and reduce video waste. Remember, our team of highly-skilled videographers and storytellers are here to help if you get stuck. Our team can help you shoot your video effectively, craft images that tell a powerful story, and speak to your specific audience with ease.

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Content Marketing Creative & Production

View more of BIGEYE‘s creative infographics.

Roadmap to Content Marketing

By: BIGEYE Posted on August 15, 2016

 

Why content marketing?

  • 78% of CMOs think custom content is the future of marketing
  • 70% of consumers prefer to learn about companies through articles, and 80% of business decision makers prefer to get information about a prospective purchase from articles
  • Content marketing costs 62% less than traditional marketing and generates about 3x more leads
  • Flat tire – 70% of marketers lack consistency and strategy

 

Get on the road!

3 steps to get in the driver’s seat of your content marketing

  1. Bring the Map – Define and document your strategy
  • 61% of the most effective B2B marketers meet daily or weekly with their content marketing team
  • Percentage of B2B marketers with a content strategy
  • 32% – Yes, undocumented
  • 48% – Yes, undocumented
  • 16% – No
  • 4% – Unsure

2. Choose the Right Destination – Know your audience

  • Using buyer personas in an email campaign doubled open rates 2x and click-through rates 5x
  • Behaviorally targeted ads are twice as effective
  • Marketing personas made websites more effective and easier to use
  • 73% of online consumers lose interest with unrelated content
  • 4 is the average number of audiences to target
  • 61% of consumers say custom content is more effective and increases buying
  • Personalized subject lines are 22.2% more likely to be opened

3. Pack Well – Create killer content on the right platforms

  • 15 blog posts per month equals 1200 new leads per month
  • 82% of marketers who blog see positive ROI for their inbound marketing
  • Long-form content (over 1,500 words) is shared more often
  • Having at least one image in your blog post results in 64.9% more Facebook shares and 20.36% more Twitter shares

Most effective B2B content marketing tactics:

75% – In-Person Events

66% – Webinars/Webcasts

65% – Case Studies

63% – White Papers

62% – Videos

61% – Research Reports

60% – eNewsletters

59% – Blogs

58% – Infographics

58% – Online Presentations

 

Success!

Categories
Campaign Creation & Development Creative & Production

CPM stands for “cost per thousand.” As in Roman numeral M. And if that sounds like Roman – we mean Greek – to you, you’re not alone. CPM advertising leverages the desire brands have to be seen. In advertising, media vendors charge brands based on every 1,000 impressions, or views, of a given advertisement. For example, a media vendor may charge $50 cost per thousand. Translation: that’s $50 for every 1,000 times your ad appears on a variety of websites, blogs, and digital news sources. But, just when you think you’re becoming fluent in digital ads, a vendor may charge $300 for that same cost per thousand. And you thought all roads led to Rome.
The trick to understanding CPM units is realizing they are priced based on a variety of somewhat ubiquitous factors, including how often viewers tend to click ads, how narrow your ad audience is (i.e., did you choose the “spray and pray” model or hone in on blogs your target market engages with), or the ad placement itself. Even the ebb and flow of your own brand popularity may play a part in your vendor’s media pricing. To help you navigate your strategy, we’ve created a cheat sheet of all the basic information you need to know before launching any digital spend.

BATTLE ROYALE: CPM vs. CPC CAMPAIGNS:

Before we go any further, let’s get one common point of confusion out of the way. CPM is not the same as CPC. CPC stands for “cost per click.” In other words, this represents the actual price you pay each time someone clicks your digital ad and has no bearing whatsoever on CPM exposure. While these two terms may seem similar, they are as different as the Greeks and Romans. When launching digital advertisements, you can choose either a CPM strategy, or a CPC strategy. Not both. On average, CPM units tend to be cheaper than CPC units. For example: $50 CPM vs. $1.05 CPC, which would be $1050 per thousand. The reason is because even though your ad may appear on a page one thousand times, that doesn’t mean every viewer sees, notices, or interacts with your advertisement. In this way, a click is more valuable because it represents higher intention and a more engaged user. Sometimes. The distinction comes from knowing the goal of your media spend. If you simply want brand exposure, CPM may be the perfect, most cost-effective strategy for your organization. If you’re using digital advertisements to close a revenue gap, CPC may be more effective in getting you to your bottom line.

SO WHY CHOOSE CPM CAMPAIGNS:

We love CPM campaigns to help build broad exposure, increase loyalty, or generate interest and excitement. CPM campaigns are great for established brands hoping to keep their products at top of mind and new brands looking to grow their customer base. They are great for all industries and all types of products. Generally, we recommend ads as a complement to any comprehensive end-to-end brand campaign that touches social media, web, and maybe even traditional media such as print or television. What makes CPM campaigns so effective is that you can get hyper-granular about where your ads appear. If you’ve launched a new children’s clothing line, you can feature your ad exclusively on parenting sites and mommy bloggers. If you are a financial advisor, you can introduce your firm on trade sites, bank homepages, and the financial section of the news. Unlike print ads and billboards, you know exactly who is seeing your ads and whether it is aligned with their needs.

HOW TO START YOUR NEXT CPM CAMPAIGN:

We’re excited for you to get started on your next campaign too, which is why our creative team at your local Orlando marketing agency is on call to help you kickstart the work. As you look forward to launching a CPM campaign, make sure you set clear, measurable goals, choose your audience carefully, and time your campaign spend around your natural sales cycle. And remember, your local marketing agency always maintains tight relationships with regional and national media vendors so, when in doubt, call in the experts. We can help you do everything from negotiating fair pricing, to translating marketing jargon, and everything in between.

 

CPM campaigns are the cornerstone of digital advertising; so don’t let confusing terms or uncertainty deter you from taking part in this powerful tool. Click here for more ideas and successful campaign examples.

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Campaign Creation & Development Creative & Production

The rise (err, fall) of media waste strikes fear into the hearts of most digital marketers. You know the scene: launch day is finally here. Your team created a new advertising campaign, complete with digital banners, a new landing page, blog posts, and an ad spend to prove it. And then, just two weeks later, your analysts tell you that online conversion has dropped, your prospects aren’t signing up via your lead gen funnel, and you’re getting a low click rate on your ads. Cue: panic mode.
Many people make the mistake of looking at media waste as … well … waste; but our team takes at different approach. Leave it to our data-obsessed team of Orlando marketing agency experts to put a new spin on an old problem. The reality is, you can’t avoid all media waste. As multi-device users surf and shop between their mobile phones, tablets, and desktops, some degree of media waste will occur naturally as the wrong customers are retargeted or even targeted in the first place. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t try to use that data to your advantage. Media waste is a phenomenal source of market research (without spending an additional dime than you planned to spend anyway).

Here are three tips to turn media waste into solid gold data insights:

1. TEST EVERYTHING TO TURN MEDIA WASTE INTO MARKET RESEARCH:

First, by launching any major campaign as an A/B test (either against legacy work that has succeeded in the past, or going live with multiple versions of your proposed work), you completely reduce media waste, while simultaneously reducing risk to your business. Yes, we just said that you could completely reduce media waste. Bear with us. No, that doesn’t mean that every test will be a winner, or that some campaigns won’t fail; but it does mean that you’ll gain insights into what KPIs are impacted which can, in turn, help you answer the pivotal “why.” Comparing one campaign to another helps you refine future creative direction and slowly build an understanding of how your market is behaving.

2. USE MEDIA WASTE TO FAIL FAST AND LEARN BIG:

Sometimes, knowing what doesn’t work is as important as what does work. Even if you don’t have a full-blown testing team, you can use media waste to gain critical insights into what your customers don’t like. Eliminating media waste isn’t about eliminating failure; it’s about shifting your team’s perspective on what you do when you fail. It’s okay to fail fast so you can learn quickly and pivot boldly. If your team is never failing, you’re probably not taking big enough marketing swings to really shake up the business and inspire new trends in your team’s work. Our team believes that failing is just as important as succeeding provided you do it in a way that doesn’t jeopardize your bottom line, which is why we recommend testing or limited launch exposure as you roll out big ideas. Go ahead, launch that crazy campaign idea. If it works: congratulations! If it doesn’t: don’t retire that campaign into a media waste graveyard, instead, mine it for key customer insights to inform your next strategy. 

3. DON’T BE AFRAID TO APPLY DIRECTIONAL LEARNINGS:

Many marketers hesitate when mining media waste for market research because the volume may be low or insights may be murky. We like to call these “directional learnings.” Media waste may not provide conclusive market research, but it does provide granular insight into your audience. Tease out these ideas and then test them to validate your hypotheses. Even simple user testing or a social media survey can add a few more data points to your research base. It may take a little longer to confirm your data than purchasing market research, but it is a lot cheaper and leverages work (and spending) that would be thrown away otherwise.

We’re so proud of the insights, and subsequent business wins, that have come out of our own missed campaigns that we’d be happy to share how our team has used media waste to drive learnings, or help you refine your past waste for future success. Shoot us a line and we’ll help you turn even the smallest failures into highly customized consumer insights.

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Creative & Production Video Production

Travel videos are indispensable to your brand because tourism is one of the first expenses to get cut when the economy is rough and often doesn’t make it to the average consumers’ weekly savings budget. When people spend money on travel, it’s because they have invested emotionally in your hotel, travel destination, or tourism hot spot. A little disposable income never hurt either, but we have plenty of data to suggest a strong emotional connection to a vacation spot or hotel might even trump that weekly budget’s bottom line when consumers are planning their next family vacation.

Because women account for 60% of all major tourism bookings and they are more inclined to respond to emotional marketing campaigns, travel videos are a perfect medium for your target audience. Travel, in and of itself, is almost exclusively an emotional, rather than pragmatic, purchase, so travel videos should always be one of your most trusted marketing tools. Here are the top three reasons your company needs travel videos to keep your brand healthy and your customers engaged.

1. Travel videos show rather than tell:

To create an emotional connection that will entice and inspire prospective travelers to choose your destination or property over the many other options they have (including staying at home), you can’t simply say you have a beach front property in the Caribbean. Instead, show off your infinity pool suites overlooking the teal waters and white sand beaches of the Caribbean Sea in a fun, flirty video featuring real-life guests enjoying your swim-up bar and sensuous spa facilities. Let your travel videos tell your brand’s story rather than trying to describe it. As your prospective guests watch, they will project themselves into your brand and be more likely to want to visit.

2. Travel videos boost engagement:

Seasoned travel pros AirBnB and Mexican-based restore chain Karisma Hotels & Resorts use video as the main image of their homepage background because studies have found that dreamy, silent videos running in the background boost time spent on site and customer engagement with your content by up to 25-percent. Travel videos are alluring, and they have the unbeatable power to drop your prospects into life in your travel destination. Even short, silent clips play a subliminal role in creating this emotional bond. Short of visiting your property, travel videos beat photos and written text hand over fist every time.  

3. Travel videos give your brand credibility:

Although videos can be edited and photoshopped, it’s a little more difficult to fake the look and feel of a tourism destination in a travel video compared to a print advertisement or digital banner. While many photo-based campaigns blend stock photography with proprietary content, most videos can’t risk using stock reel in a property tour video for risk of false advertisement. Users are more inclined to believe the size of your rooms or quality of your property is what you tell them if they have seen it in a video. It’s time to put your money – er, we mean camera – where your mouth is.

Travel videos can be more inspiring than almost any other form of media. When an entire vacation is condensed into a 30 second commercial or social media video, you immediately take your brand to the next level. Since our team of marketing specialists live where many people vacation, we’re primed to help you craft the perfect video for your brand. Give us a call today.